top of page
Search

Jesus is God



Jesus is God

For many years our ministry has battled different cults and debated the true meaning of scripture. I'm not an eloquent speaker nor am I excellent with grammar, but God gave me a message to speak. One thing I’ve noticed when dealing with groups of people who say Jesus is not God, they speak the same way as spoken in John 8. I will hear some say Jesus is a prophet, Jesus is Michael the Archangel, Jesus is a good man, in any case, maybe many don't recognize him because Jesus said His sheep hear His voice. I am going to go over scriptures proving to you that Jesus is God. Now this is not because God needs proof, but it is for your sake because you need it. So we began.


-Warning:


Before the warning first read this scripture, drop all the teachers your learning from and study all the scriptures presented to you for your self alone with the Holy Spirit.

John 2:27 AMP

As for you, the anointing [the special gift, the preparation] which you received from Him remains [permanently] in you, and you have no need for anyone to teach you. But just as His anointing teaches you [giving you insight through the presence of the Holy Spirit] about all things, and is true and is not a lie, and just as His anointing has taught you, you must remain in Him [being rooted in Him, knit to Him]


Matthew 7:15 “Beware of false prophets, who come to you in sheep’s clothing but inwardly are ravenous wolves.

2 Corinthians 11:13-15

For such men are false apostles, deceitful workmen, disguising themselves as apostles of Christ. And no wonder, for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. So it is no surprise if his servants, also, disguise themselves as servants of righteousness. Their end will correspond to their deeds.

Romans 16:17-18

I appeal to you, brothers, to watch out for those who cause divisions and create obstacles contrary to the doctrine that you have been taught; avoid them. For such persons do not serve our Lord Christ, but their appetites, and by smooth talk and flattery they deceive the hearts of the naive.

-Who is HE?



I think I always knew in my heart that Jesus is God. The problem is when speaking to people who have not received the Holy Spirit and who say He is not God you notice your fighting the same spirit that Jesus dealt with like when He stood in the Temple in

John 8:12 Jesus, begins to talk about who He is, He first says:



I am going to be referencing the old testament and new testament scriptures because this shows only God calls Himself these names. No one else will call themselves the same name except Jesus and God.


Psalm 27:1 The Lord is my light and my salvation; Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; Of whom shall I be afraid?


-Again in the new testament,


John 1 talks about who Jesus is, when Jesus began His ministry the book of John is the perfect opening to my point.


1 At the beginning [before all time] was the Word ([a]Christ), and the Word was with God, and [b]the Word was God Himself. 2 He was [continually existing] in the beginning [co-eternally] with God. 3 All things were made and came into existence through Him, and without Him, not even one thing was made that has come into being. 4 In Him was life [and the power to bestow life], and the life was the Light of men. 5 The Light shines on in the [c]darkness, and the darkness did not understand it or overpower it or appropriate it or absorb it [and is unreceptive to it].



This whole introduction explains so much of who Jesus is, Let's point out some key words proving who Jesus is:

  1. a. The Word, (Jesus)

  2. b. The Word (Jesus) was with God, (Yahweh)

  3. c. The word (Jesus) was God(Yahweh)

  4. d. (Jesus) was at the beginning with God(Yahweh).

  5. e. All things were made through Him (Jesus)

  6. f. And without Him (Jesus) nothing was made that was made.

  7. g. In Him(Jesus) was life,

  8. h. And the LIFE (Jesus) was the LIGHT(Jesus) of men. 5 And the LIGHT(Jesus) shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not [a]comprehend it.

I get the feeling it's all about Jesus, do! Duh!




-Jump down to:

John 1:9 There it was—the true (God) Light [the genuine, perfect, steadfast Light] which, coming into the world, enlightens everyone. 10 He (Christ)(God) was in the world, and though the world was made through Him(Jesus who is God), the world did not recognize Him(Jesus, God Immanuel God in the flesh). 11 He (God) came to that which was His(Gods) own [that which belonged to Him(Jesus, God)—(Jesus,God)His world, His (Jesus, God) creation, His possession], and those who were His(God) own [people—the Jewish nation] did not receive and welcome Him(God). 12 But to as many as did receive and welcome Him(God), He(God) gave the right [the authority, the privilege] to become children of God, that is, to those who believe in (adhere to, trust in, and rely on) His(God's) name— 13 who were born, not of blood [natural conception], nor of the will of the flesh [physical impulse], nor of the will of man [that of a natural father], but of God [that is, a divine and supernatural birth—they are born of God—spiritually transformed, renewed, sanctified].

So John 1 explains perfectly who Jesus is. He is God. He is the word, He made the world, He is light, He came to His people. It's just a very clear view in the opening of Jesus Ministry of who He is.


-Now Back to John 8:24


John 8:12 to the end of the Chapter Jesus talks about who He is the whole time and as many people that I have faced and argued with, just like Jesus I am also trying to convince them who Jesus is.


Jesus says in


Well, my question is WHO IS HE? Who is Jesus? Let's read the whole chapter.

John 8:24-59

Some versions capitalize I AM HE, does that mean Jesus is saying He is I AM? Let's read on.



Here in verse 28, He says this again. I AM HE. Who is He?


He again says something awesome. Continue in my "WORD," who is the word? Jesus(God) is the word. Again referring to himself in


John 1: 1, In the beginning, was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2 He was in the beginning with God. 3 All things were made through Him, and without Him nothing was made that was made.


Here again, He talks about Himself as the truth. Ye shall know (JESUS) and (Jesus) shall make you free.

John 14:6 Jesus answered, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.

Psalm 25:5 Lead me in your truth and teach me, for you are the God of my salvation; for you, I wait all the day long.

Only God says He is truth and Salvation like Jesus.



This is also an amazing reference to Hagar's son Ishmael (bond servant) and Isaac the promised son. Galatians 4:22-31


So what are the works of Abraham? Romans 4 "Abraham believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness." When a man works at a job his wages are not a gift, they are earned and an obligation to him because he earns them from His employer, but if you do not work, you must trust someone to feed you, to clothe you and God who justifies even the wicked, because by his faith it is credited as righteousness. Why, because eternal life is a gift from God. They thought their genealogy made them sons, They thought their genealogy plus works got them a free pass into the Kingdom. They believed circumcision and keeping the Sabbath plus their genealogy and washing their hands, plus eating clean food made them righteous before the Lord. They still were mean, and angry and did everything evil because their works justified them before God, but Jesus said even the wicked can be justified before Him by faith in Him.



What deeds did they do? They broke the law for one they were lying...



This part makes me realize how important it is to believe without question who Jesus said He was, because it is when you say your blind, then you may see.

John 9:41 Jesus said, "If you were blind, you would not be guilty of sin; but now that you claim you can see, your guilt remains.


So as he finishes up this whole explanation of who He is he finishes with again, saying "I Am."



Exodus 3:14 God said to Moses, “I AM WHO I AM. This is what you are saying to the Israelites: ‘I AM has sent me to you.’ ”


Why were they so angry that they were willing to stone Jesus? Well, because he made himself equal to God. Only God calls Himself the great I Am. Yet Jesus called himself the great I am many times, Maybe we are not hearing his voice because it is important for you to know who Jesus is.

John 5:18 For this reason they tried all the more to kill him; not only was he breaking the Sabbath, but he was even calling God his own Father, making himself equal with God.


So if that was the case and he was making himself equal to God Let see if He was?


Old testament: I am Yahweh, (God, Source, Father, Abba) Of course much more.

New Testament: I am Jesus(Salvation, Savior) of course much more also.



God is our water:

Psalm 36:9

For with You is the fountain of life [the fountain of life-giving water]; In Your light we see light.

God provides:

Genesis 22:14 And Abraham called the name of the place, [a]The-Lord-Will-Provide; as it is said to this day, “In the Mount of the Lord it shall be provided.”

God is the first and the last:

Isaiah 48:12 “Listen to Me, O Jacob, even Israel whom I called;

I am He, I am the first, I am also the last.

God is our Salvation

Isaiah 12:2-3“Behold, God, my salvation!

I will trust and not be afraid,

For the Lord God is my strength and song;

3Yes, He has become my salvation.”

Therefore with joy you will draw water

From the springs of salvation.



“I Am Who I Am. Say this to the people of Israel: I Am has sent me to you.” Exodus 3:14

“I am El-Shaddai—‘God Almighty.’ Genesis 17:1

“I am the God of your father, Abraham,” He said. “Do not be afraid, for I am with you and will bless you. Genesis 26:24

And God said to Moses, “I am Yahweh—‘the Lord.’ Exodus 6:2

“I am the Lord who heals you.” Exodus 15:26

“I am the Lord your God, who rescued you from the land of Egypt, the place of your slavery. Exodus 20:2

“I am merciful.” Exodus 22:27

“Yahweh! The Lord! The God of compassion and mercy! I am slow to anger and filled with unfailing love and faithfulness.” Exodus 34:6

“If you obey my decrees and my regulations, you will find life through them. I am the Lord.” Leviticus 18:5

“Be still, and know that I am God! I will be honored by every nation. I will be honored throughout the world.” Psalm 46:10

Therefore, this is what the Sovereign Lord says: “Look! I am placing a foundation stone in Jerusalem, a firm and tested stone. It is a precious cornerstone that is safe to build on. Whoever believes need never be shaken. Isaiah 28:16

Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with my victorious right hand. Isaiah 41:10

“I am the Lord; that is my name! I will not give my glory to anyone else, nor share my praise with carved idols.” Isaiah 42:8

I, yes I, am the Lord, and there is no other Savior. First I predicted your rescue, then I saved you and proclaimed it to the world. No foreign god has ever done this. You are witnesses that I am the only God,” says the Lord. Isaiah 43:11-12

“From eternity to eternity I am God. No one can snatch anyone out of my hand. No one can undo what I have done.” Isaiah 43:13

This is what the Lord says— your Redeemer and Creator: “I am the Lord, who made all things. I alone stretched out the heavens. Who was with me when I made the earth?” Isaiah 44:24

“Remember the things I have done in the past. For I alone am God! I am God, and there is none like me.” Isaiah 46:9


“I, yes I, am the one who comforts you. So why are you afraid of mere humans, who wither like the grass and disappear?” Isaiah 51:12

“I am a God who is near,” says the Lord. “I am also a God who is far away. No one can hide where I cannot see him,” says the Lord. “I fill all of heaven and earth,” says the Lord. Jeremiah 23:23-24

“For I am the Lord! If I say it, it will happen.” Ezekiel 12:25

“I am the Lord, and I do not change.” Malachi 3:6

God feeds the hungry, he is the pillar of light, the cloud, savior, His right arm that saves, fountains of water, He is King, Jehovah Jirah, Adonai, King of righteousness, King of peace.


New Testament: Jesus

Jesus is our water:

John 4:14 but whoever drinks of the water that I will give him shall never thirst, but the water that I will give him will become in him a well of water springing up to eternal life.”

Jesus laid his life down providing a way out of sin:

Jesus is our salvation

John 3:16 For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

Jesus is the beginning and the end:


Revelations 22:13 I am the Alpha and the Omega, the First and the Last, the Beginning and the End.

Jesus is our Salvation

“Nor is there salvation in any other, for there is no other name under heaven given among men by which we must be saved.” (Acts 4:12)

Jesus is bread

John 6:35 Then Jesus declared,“I am the bread of life.Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believe sin me will never be thirsty.

Jesus is the way, the truth the life, the bread the water, the sacrifice, the Groom, son of man, son of God, The temple, the show bread, the wine, light, the pathway etc..

  • Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through Me.” (John 14:6)

  • “I am the door. If anyone enters by Me, he will be saved, and will go in and find pasture … I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” (John 10:9)

  • Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life, he who believes in Me, though he may die, he shall live. And whoever lives and believes in Me shall never die.” (John 11:25)

  • Then Jesus spoke to them again, saying, “I am the light of the world. He who follows Me shall not walk in darkness, but have the light of life.” (John 8:12)

  • And Jesus said to them, “I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me shall never hunger and he who believes in Me shall never thirst.” (John 6:35)

  • “I am the living bread which came down from heaven. If anyone eats of this bread, he will live forever; and the bread that I shall give is My flesh, which I shall give for the life of the world.” (John 6:51)

  • “… whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life

  • For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life.” (John 3:15-16)

Then Jesus said, “I am He [the Messiah]—I, the one talking to you.” John 4:26

“I am the bread that gives life.” John 6:48

“I am the light of the world. The person who follows me will never live in darkness but will have the light that gives life.” John 8:12

Jesus answered, “I tell you the truth before Abraham was even born, I am!” John 8:58


“I am the good shepherd. The good shepherd gives his life for the sheep.” John 10:11

Jesus said to her, “I am the resurrection and the life. Those who believe in me will have life even if they die. John 11:25

Jesus answered, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. The only way to the Father is through me.” John 14:6

“Believe me when I say that I am in the Father and the Father is in me. Or believe because of the miracles I have done.” John 14:11

The Lord God says, “I am the Alpha and the Omega. I am the One who is and was and is coming. I am the Almighty.” Revelation 1:8

“I am the One who lives; I was dead, but look, I am alive forever and ever!” Revelation 1:18

“I am coming soon. Continue strong in your faith so no one will take away your crown.” Revelation 3:11

The One who was sitting on the throne said, “Look! I am making everything new!” Then He said, “Write this because these words are true and can be trusted.” Revelation 21:5

Jesus, the One who says these things are true, says, “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus! Revelation 22:20

Comparing the new and old testament and showing that God and Jesus do the same jobs only makes you realize how much Jesus is God.


Question:

Is it important to know who Jesus is?

What I mean is it important to believe that He is God.

It is very important because the Jews were looking and waiting for their Messiah. They were looking for a King who would rule the world in righteousness. They looked for the prophecies and signs of His coming, yet they did not recognize the signs or Jesus and those who did believe were afraid, for fear of being rejected by other Jews. Some were like Nicodemus, who saw him at night and Peter who denied him.

Jesus asked them...


-“Who do you say that I am?” (Luke 9:20)

-“Who do the crowds say I am?” (Luke 9:18)

-Matthew 16:1–28

16 And the Pharisees and Sadducees came, and to test him they asked him to show them a sign from heaven.

-Then he asked them, “But who do you say I am?” Peter replied, “You are the Messiah.” Mark 8:29

-Mark 8: 11 The Pharisees came and began to argue with him, seeking from him a sign from heaven to test him. 12 And he sighed deeply in his spirit and said, “Why does this generation seek a sign? Truly, I say to you, no sign will be given to this generation.” 13 And he left them, got into the boat again, and went to the other side.


-This battle of knowing who Jesus is, will not end till we see Him coming in the clouds. It still goes on in the hearts of those who reject these scriptures and the same frustration that Jesus had when proving who He is has also become mine. They wanted HIM God in Flesh to perform miracles. Think about that? You a mere human who is asking God of heaven and earth to perform for you, like he is some entertainer, so YOU can believe. Yet here God is on earth coming down to save man to our benefit.

Guess what even if you don't believe in my opinion and if all men reject God, he still has someone that will never ever separate from Himself again.

Romans 8:38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers,39 nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.



Yep, you guessed, JESUS. He (God) sealed his plan in the blood and death of Jesus. This plan did not fail, would never fail with Jesus who is child, son and Immanuel. Jesus came to fulfil the law, and completed it perfectly because NOBODY can fulfill His own law. No one could ever become perfect in birth none no, not one, because we are all born into sin. We once were separated:


Genesis 6:3 Then the LORD said, "My Spirit will not contend with humans forever, for they are mortal; their days will be a hundred and twenty years."


Ever heard of the saying if you want something done do it yourself. Yeah, that's pretty much in my human explanation how it happened. God needed his Perfect Holy Law to be kept Perfect. Only Jesus could do it, God in flesh Immanuel.


The best scripture on earth shows who Jesus is...

Isaiah 9:6 For to us a child is born, to us a son is given, and the government will be on his shoulders. And he will be called Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

  1. child (born flesh Jesus)(son of man)

  2. son (Spirit Son of God

  3. government (The Kingdom)

  4. His shoulders (God head, King) What is a on your shoulders? Your head.

  5. Wonderful Counselor (Holy Spirit)

  6. Mighty God(Yahweh)

  7. Everlasting Father(Abba)

  8. Prince of Peace(Yeshua Messiah King Jesus)

-More Proof?


The book of John the priests again trying to figure out who Jesus was, when they questioned John the Baptist and John spoke of Jesus, John knew who He was, that is why He said I am not worthy to untie His shoes.

Read from John 1:15-27 where John spoke of Jesus as they questioned Him who he was. John told them that Jesus was before him and remember John was born before Jesus. Again, you will see John baring witness of who Jesus was. Why does John feel unworthy to untie Jesus' shoe? Why would that be such a big deal? No man receives worship, not even prophets receive worship. Nobody does.

I want to emphasize this scripture...

“I said therefore unto you, that ye shall die in your sins: for if ye believe not that I am he, ye shall die in your sins.” – John 8:24

I need this to sink in. Who is Jesus, and why did Jesus ask who do you say that I am, and why does he say if you don't believe that I am he, then you will die in your sin?

I think these questions are serious. It was so serious Jesus asked them same questions. Who do you, or the crowd say that I am?


Answers:

Let me list some scriptures that talk about who Jesus is again... Jesus Christ is God in the flesh (1 Tim 3:16; Col 2:9). If he is not, he cannot be your Saviour (Titus 2:13). God is the only Saviour (Isa 43:11).

Col. 2:9 For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.

Titus 2:13 Looking for that blessed hope, and the glorious appearing of the great God and our Saviour Jesus Christ

Isaiah 43:11 I, even I, am the Lord; and beside me, there is no savior.

HE IS:

“But without faith, it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.”Hebrews 11:6

Let's emphasize HE IS. Who is He? What does that mean? HE IS.

What does this term mean?


HE IS

I AM HE

Let's look at these two statements...

God is ALL ONE, He needs nothing to live. HE is Power and eternal. He is bread, water, life, light, beginning, and the end. He is!! Can you define Him? No, He is undefinable. So God is what we need Him to be for us because we are NEEDY. We breathe His breath, drink His water, Eat His food, live only because He saved us. He is the owner of all that's is why we call Him LORD which means owner. So when He calls Himself HE IS, or I AM it's because HE IS whatever we need Him to be for us. God and Jesus said they are light, They both say they are savior, both say I am water, They are life, They both say they are creator, they both say They are Kings, They raise the dead, They Heal, They are love, They are peace, They are everything you need when you need it. They are the source. They speak the same language(meaning terms.) Because God is the same yesterday, today, and forever. So if both say it then they must be one God, but also are two who bear witness. Is that confusing for you? It is because you don't see That God says His thoughts are higher than my thoughts and His ways are higher than my ways.


Isaiah 55:9"As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.


If you could figure out God, then He would not be God. So believe, Have faith.

Hebrews 11:6 says you cannot please God without faith.

The only way to the Father is through Jesus Christ.

He is the ONLY DOOR into the Kingdom of God.

So believe, Have faith, Trust and walk by faith that Jesus is God.



The Right Hand of God!


God's RIGHT HAND.

Why does the entire old testament talk about God's right-hand? Why does the new testament talk about Jesus sitting at the right Hand?

Many times when people who I am witnessing to tell me that Jesus is not God, I have to say to them do you think your right hand is not you? Your arms, your legs, your eyes are all who you are. They are not separate from you, they are you.

Mark 14: 60 And the high priest stood up in the midst and asked Jesus, saying, “Do You answer nothing? What is it these men testify against You?” 61 But He kept silent and answered nothing.

Again the high priest asked Him, saying to Him, “Are You the Christ, the Son of the Blessed?”

62 Jesus said, “I am." And you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of the Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven.”


"He is the radiance of the glory of God and the exact imprint of his nature, and he upholds the universe by the word of his power. After making purification for sins, he sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high"(Hebrews 1:3).

Here in Psalms David spoke of Jesus sitting at the right hand of God.

Psalm 110:1 The Lord said to my Lord,

“Sit at My right hand,

Till I make Your enemies Your footstool.”

That Your beloved may be delivered,

Save with Your right hand, and answer us!

That Your beloved may be delivered,

Save with Your right hand, and answer me!

Now I know that the Lord saves His anointed;

He will answer him from His holy heaven

With the saving strength of His right hand

Your hand will find out all your enemies;

Your right hand will find out those who hate you.

“Surely My hand founded the earth,

And My right hand spread out the heavens;

When I call to them, they stand together.

So He brought them to His holy land, To this hill country which His right hand had gained. Isaiah 41:10 ‘Do not fear, for I am with you; Do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, Surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.’ Exodus 15:6 “Your right hand, O Lord, is majestic in power, Your right hand, O Lord, shatters the enemy. Exodus 15:12 “You stretched out Your right hand, The earth swallowed them. Psalm 21:8 Your hand will find out all your enemies; Your right hand will find out those who hate you. Psalm 74:11 Why do You withdraw Your hand, even Your right hand? From within Your bosom, destroy them!


Psalm 45:4 And in Your majesty ride on victoriously, For the cause of truth and meekness and righteousness; Let Your right hand teach You awesome things. Psalm 77:10 Then I said, “It is my grief, That the right hand of the Most High has changed.”

Psalm 118:15-16 The sound of joyful shouting and salvation is in the tents of the righteous; The right hand of the Lord does valiantly. The right hand of the Lord is exalted; The right hand of the Lord does valiantly. Isaiah 48:13 “Surely My hand founded the earth, And My right hand spread out the heavens; When I call to them, they stand together. Lamentations 2:4 He has bent His bow like an enemy; He has set His right hand like an adversary And slain all that were pleasant to the eye; In the tent of the daughter of Zion He has poured out His wrath like fire. Habakkuk 2:16 “You will be filled with disgrace rather than honor. Now you yourself drink and expose your own nakedness. The cup in the Lord’s right hand will come around to you, And utter disgrace will come upon your glory. Hebrews 1:13 But to which of the angels has He ever said, “Sit at My right hand, Until I make Your enemies A footstool for Your feet”?

These two verses are really unique with the word "bosom," because bosom means between your shoulders, like your chest.

The Holy Spirit spoke to me and said look up Adams rib.

This is what I found about it.

tsela,` which is pronounced Selah

side, rib, beam

  1. rib (of man)

  2. rib (of hill, ridge, etc)

  3. side-chambers or cells (of temple structure) (Jesus is called the temple)

  4. rib, plank, board (of cedar or fir) (Again Jesus is compared to a tree, vine and the cedars of Lebenaon)

  5. leaves (of door) (Jesus is called the door)

  6. side (of ark) (Jesus is called the ark (noahs ark, and the ark of the covenant)

Do you see what rib means? Just more proof...(for the unbeliever)

Why do You withdraw Your hand, even Your right hand?

From within Your bosom, destroy them!

No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him

I want to list all the scripture of God right hand, but I suggest to look them up for yourself.


All these scriptures about His right hand is more amazing proof of who Jesus is. Now let me list the scriptures that talk about Him sitting at the right Hand.



Matthew 22:44 ‘The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, Until I put Your enemies beneath Your feet”’? Mark 12:36 David himself said in the Holy Spirit, ‘The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, Until I put Your enemies beneath Your feet.”’ Luke 20:42 For David himself says in the book of Psalms, ‘The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, Luke 22:69 But from now on, the Son of Man will be seated at the right hand of the power of God.”

Acts 2:34 For it was not David, who ascended into heaven, but he himself says: ‘The Lord said to my Lord, “Sit at My right hand, Acts 7:55-56 But being full of the Holy Spirit, he gazed intently into heaven and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing at the right hand of God; and he said, “Behold, I see, the heavens opened up and the Son of Man standing at the right hand of God.”

Colossians 3:1 Therefore, if you have been raised up with Christ, keep seeking the things above, where Christ is, seated at the right hand of God.

Hebrews 1:3 And He is the radiance of His glory and the exact representation of His nature, and upholds all things by the word of His power. When He had made purification of sins, He sat down at the right hand of the Majesty on high,

Hebrews 12:2 fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

1 Peter 3:22 who is at the right hand of God, having gone into heaven, after angels and authorities and powers had been subjected to Him.

Ephesians 1:20-21 which He brought about in Christ, when He raised Him from the dead and seated Him at His right hand in the heavenly places, far above all rule and authority and power and dominion, and every name that is named, not only in this age but also in the one to come.

Romans 8:34 who is the one who condemns? Christ Jesus is He who died, yes, rather who was raised, who is at the right hand of God, who also intercedes for us

Acts 2:33 Therefore, having been exalted to the right hand of God, and having received from the Father the promise of the Holy Spirit, He has poured forth this which you both see and hear.

Acts 5:31 He is the one whom God exalted to His right hand as a Prince and a Savior, to grant repentance to Israel, and forgiveness of sins.


Hebrews 8:1 Now the main point in what has been said is this: we have such a high priest, who has taken His seat at the right hand of the throne of the Majesty in the heavens,

Matthew 26:64 Jesus *said to him, “You have said it yourself; nevertheless I tell you, hereafter you will see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of Power, and coming on the clouds of heaven.”

Mark 14:62 And Jesus said, “I am; and you shall see the Son of Man sitting at the right hand of Power, and coming with the clouds of heaven.”


YET, after all this proof I still get questions from the nonbelievers like:

If Jesus is God, then why did He pray to Himself? If Jesus is God, why didn't he know when he would return? Jesus did not know when He would return only God knew.

Here is the scripture.

Matt. 24:35-37, “Heaven and earth will pass away, but My words shall not pass away. 36But of that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son, but the Father alone. 37 For the coming of the Son of Man will be just like the days of Noah.

Let me give you a scripture that has to do with the end of what I’m explaining but I will give it to you first.

John 3:29 The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice. That joy is mine, and it is now complete.


So when Jesus began His ministry, he went to get baptized by John and John knew who He was, and said:


Matthew 3:14-15

But John tried to deter him, saying, “I need to be baptized by you, and do you come to me?” “Let it be so now,” Jesus replied. “It is fitting for us to fulfill all righteousness in this way.” Then John permitted Him.

So we always have to remember we are dealing with a KING, His KINGDOM, and His KIDS.


Isaiah is so important because it lists the positions of the Kingdom.

Isaiah 9:6 says and the government shall be upon his shoulder: and his name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor, The mighty God, The everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.



He is called the I AM because his position is for what you need it to be. If you're hungry, He is bread, if you're thirsty, He is water, If you're sick, He is Healer, If you're sad He is a comforter. He is also LORD, KING, and Prince. He is all of it. The thing is when they asked him when He was returning, He was speaking in the position of the Groom. The Jewish wedding custom you’re going to be confused because we don’t operate on the earth in a righteous Kingdom. Our governments are corrupted. He speaks concerning His position He needs to be. When He came to John and said you need to baptize me, Jesus said this needs to happen because John was the last prophet of the old testament and needed to move the authority into the next phase and that was Jesus receiving the Holy Spirit. That’s what the water represents. It is a shadow of what is to come. When John baptized Him the Spirit the real thing just like Jesus who was the real thing, there were no more shadows because He was now present.

Hebrews 10:1 says, “The law [was only] a shadow of the good things to come instead of the true form of these realities”

The entire old testament made shadows of Jesus like:


Matthew 12:40 compares Jesus with Jonah: “For just as Jonah was three days and three nights in the belly of the great fish, so will the Son of Man be three days and three nights in the heart of the earth.”


John 3:14 compares Jesus with the Bronze Serpent: “As Moses lifted up the serpent in the wilderness, even so, must the Son of Man be lifted up.”


John 6:32-33 compares Jesus with the manna: “Moses did not give you the bread from heaven, but My Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is He who comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”


It’s authority passing on authority. That is how the Kingdom works. Jesus said suffer it to be so and John baptized Jesus.


So back to the question. Why didn’t Jesus know when He was returning and this has to do with Jewish marriage customs.


Let me show you what happens when you marry in this custom and remember Jesus respected authority because He is a King and in a Kingdom, it is about positions of Authority.



Here is a quick summary of the wedding custom as I have researched. The basic order of the entire process:


Shiddukhin – The Selection of the bride. In ancient times it was customary for the father of the groom to find a bride for his son and make the arrangements. Genesis 24:1-32


Ketubah – The marriage contract is negotiated and agreed upon. Genesis 24:33-52


Mohar – The bridal payment. It is given to the bride’s family, but belongs to the bride. Genesis 24:53, 29:20,27, 1 Corinthians 7:23, 1 Peter 18-19


Eyrusin/Kiddushin/Betrothal – The Groom prepares to leave. For the next (roughly) year they are betrothed but live apart. The groom prepares a wedding chamber.


Matan – Pledge. When the groom leaves he gives the bride a gift, a pledge of his return. 2 Cor 1:21-22


Nissuin – Marriage. When the groom’s father approves it is ready, the groom may go collect his bride. His return is joyful with fanfare and trumpets. There is a 7-day feast and the couple goes off to the room that was prepared (again, usually at his father’s house). Details of private ceremony preceding the wedding chamber with large public feast afterward can vary.


The community and the bride generally knew the year and the month, but the day and the hour were unknown.

Saying “only my Father knows” does not mean Jesus is ignorant, but rather submissive and respectful to his Father’s authority.

The “only my Father knows” line is not just a common phrase, it is a scripted response for all questions about the wedding, even a ceremonial response:

When a Jewish lad would propose marriage to a prospective bride, he would offer her a cup of wine. If she drank it, she was accepting the betrothal. He would then inform her that he was to go to his father’s house to prepare a place for her. She would typically respond, “When are you coming back?” The prospective groom would reply by saying, “Only my father knows!”

This marriage script is also quoted by Jesus elsewhere

. John 14:2-3 (ESV) says:

2 In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?

3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.

This is a great example of having a position of Authority and respecting the position of His Father although He is still God.


So this again comes back to:

John 3:29 The bride belongs to the bridegroom. The friend who attends the bridegroom waits and listens for him, and is full of joy when he hears the bridegroom’s voice. That joy is mine, and it is now complete.

So now this is why John decreased in His Authority and Jesus increased because they both submitted to fulfilling righteousness. John came preparing the way for Jesus. Before a King comes, they send someone to prepare for His arrival, making a way announcing His arrival. John's job was complete when Jesus arrived, Johns job was baptize Jesus and when He saw the Spirit stay on Him He knew that He must decrease while Jesus increases. When The King arrives the person who announces leaves.

John 1:17 For the law was given through Moses; grace and truth came through Jesus Christ. John was the greates prophet because H had one foot in the old testament and one foot in the new, the disciples that John had went with Jesus. I't all about Authority.

So Jesus says I don’t know only the Father knows because I’m in the position of the son of man who is the groom, God is Father, Jesus my position is to come for the Bride. The Fathers position is to tell me when to go.


Matthew 24:36 But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.


Again, when Jesus prays on many occasion.

This again has to do with positions. Jesus is son of man on earth speaking to the Father who is in heaven. He took on the position of man lowering Himself, because the only man could be saved is by another man. So Jesus put Himself in man to fulfill the law,The law was made for man. The wages of sin was death for Man. But no man could save man only God can save man.

Phillip 2:12 Who, being in very nature God, did not consider equality with God something to be used to his own advantage rather, he made himself nothing by taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness. And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death-- even death on a cross! Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.

So if Jesus humbled him self to the lowest thing like death, why would it be a big deal if He prayed? Jesus did what was necessary to save mankind. He followed His rules and His laws because He is not going to be fulfilled until He gets the job done. No person can save themselves. That is why when you look at the temple , Jesus is every piece of the Temple. He is God, He is the Son, He is the candle sticks, he is the rock, the water, the vine, he is the breath.



In conclusion, all of the words of God are held up by scripture and the answer is in His word. The problem is if you don’t know who Jesus is, you remain in your sin. He said you must know HE IS, do you know who He is? God shows you that He is everything and all you need. Once you meet Jesus there is no one else to meet. Jesus is God.


References: https://hermeneutics.stackexchange.com/questions/19249/what-does-it-mean-that-the-son-did-not-know-the-hour-of-his-return-in-matthew-24


http://messianicfellowship.50webs.com/wedding.html

24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page